Lade Veranstaltungen

Modern image consumption and production are increasingly designed to satisfy our longings and fantasies while at the same time stirring them up: live streams, food pornor unboxing videosare among the screen-based phenomena from the realm of digital desire and fetishes that fathom the limits of the obsessive, intimate and perverse. These phenomena flourish thanks to our desire to see and can give us a sense of belonging, participation or demarcation. The exhibition Schaulustuses artistic and cultural manifestations to explore the interplay of gaze and desire, the role of the image and the legitimacy of the gaze against the background of the contemporary networked image.

The lust to look shall be negotiated in different subcategories. The theme of intimacy explores the border between the voyeuristic interest of the viewer, the photographic intrusion into private spheres, and the voluntary surrender of privacy. Through phenomena such as food pornor selfies, the normalization of the gaze and the standardization of images are to be addressed. Furthermore, it is to be examined how a feeling of comfort, contentment and security can be generated by means of pictures. As a counterpart, the social retreat made possible by images, the promotion of addiction-like behaviour and the image as a proxy for real life will also be investigated. The commodification of the image, technophilia and the creation of new images by artificial intelligences, which both awaken and satisfy new possibilities of seeing and the desire to look, will also be explored.

With Sophie Calle, Hannah Collins, Marine Dias Daniel, Jake Elwes, Seiichi Furuya, Paul Graham, Gregory Eddi Jones, Andy Kassier, Andy King, Marianne Müller, Christof Nüssli, Annelies Štrba, Shengze Zhu.

Curated by Danaé Panchaud and Miriam Edmunds.

Schaulust ist eine Kooperation mit dem Fotomuseum Winterthur im Rahmen von SITUATIONS.

Andy King, You Are All I see, 2019

Andy King, You Are All I See, 2019

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Andy Kassier, Naked Snow, 2015

Andy Kassier, Naked Snow, 2015

Marine Dias Daniel, la femme nue, 2018

Marine Dias Daniel, 24 heures sous surveillance, 2019

Jake Elwes, Digital Caress, 2015

Jake Elwes, Digital Caress, 2015

Andy King, You Are All I see, 2019

Andy King, You Are All I See, 2019

Gregory Eddi Jones, #6, from the series Another Twenty-Six Gas Stations

Gregory Eddi Jones, #6, from the series Another Twenty-Six Gas Stations, 2014

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Marine Dias Daniel, la femme nue, 2018

Marine Dias Daniel, La femme nue, 2018

Seiichi Furuya, Portrait of Christine Furuya, Graz, 1979

Seiichi Furuya, Portrait of Christine Furuya, Graz, 1979
© Seiichi Furuya | Courtesy Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin

Annelies Streba, Filmstills aus Dawa-Video, 2001

Annelies Streba, Filmstills aus Dawa-Video, 2001

Christof Nuessli, Googley Eyes, 2019

Christof Nüssli, Splash, drip, drip, woo, splash, ayy, 2019

Jake Elwes, Machine Learning Porn, 2016

Jake Elwes, Machine Learning Porn, 2016

Lade Veranstaltungen

Die moderne Bildproduktion und der aktuelle Bildkonsum sind zunehmend darauf ausgelegt, unsere Sehnsüchte und Fantasien zu stillen, während sie sie gleichzeitig weiter schüren: live streams, food porn oder unboxing videos gehören zu den bildschirmbasierten Phänomenen aus dem Reich digitaler Begehren und Fetische, die die Grenzen des Obsessiven, Intimen, Triebhaften und Perversen ausloten. Sie florieren dank unserer Lust am Sehen und können uns das Gefühl von Zugehörigkeit, Teilhabe oder Abgrenzung geben. In der Ausstellung Schaulust wird anhand von künstlerischen und kulturellen Erscheinungsformen das Wechselspiel von Blick und Begehren, die Rolle des Bildes und die Legitimität des Blicks vor dem Hintergrund des zeitgenössischen, vernetzten Bildes thematisiert.

Schaulust soll in unterschiedlichen Subkategorien verhandelt werden. Das Thema Intimität lotet die Grenze vom voyeuristischen Interesse des Betrachters, dem fotografischen Eindringen in private Sphären und der freiwilligen Preisgabe von Privatsphäre aus. Anhand von Phänomenen wie food porn oder Selfies soll die Normalisierung des Blicks und die Standardisierung von Bildern behandelt werden. Des Weiteren soll untersucht werden, wie mittels Bildern ein Gefühl von Komfort, Zufriedenheit und Geborgenheit generiert werden kann. Als Gegenstück dazu sollen auch der durch Bilder ermöglichte soziale Rückzug, die Forcierung von suchtähnlichem Verhalten und das Bild als Stellvertreter für das reale Leben untersucht werden. Ebenfalls diskutiert werden die Kommerzialisierung des Bildes, Technophilie und die Erschaffung neuer Bilder durch künstliche Intelligenzen, die neue Möglichkeiten des Sehens und der Schaulust sowohl erwecken als auch befriedigen.

Mit Sophie Calle, Hannah Collins, Marine Dias Daniel, Jake Elwes, Seiichi Furuya, Paul Graham, Gregory Eddi Jones, Andy Kassier, Andy King, Marianne Müller, Christof Nüssli, Annelies Štrba, Shengze Zhu.

Kuratiert von Danaé Panchaud und Miriam Edmunds.


Nächste Veranstaltungen

Führung auf Deutsch
Samstag, 2. November um 14:00 Uhr

Führung und Gespräch mit den Kuratorinnen: Bild as Stellvertreter
Sonntag, 24. November um 15:00 Uhr


Schaulust ist eine Kooperation mit dem Fotomuseum Winterthur im Rahmen von SITUATIONS.

Andy King, You Are All I see, 2019

Andy King, You Are All I See, 2019

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Andy Kassier, Naked Snow, 2015

Andy Kassier, Naked Snow, 2015

Marine Dias Daniel, la femme nue, 2018

Marine Dias Daniel, 24 heures sous surveillance, 2019

Jake Elwes, Digital Caress, 2015

Jake Elwes, Digital Caress, 2015

Andy King, You Are All I see, 2019

Andy King, You Are All I See, 2019

Gregory Eddi Jones, #6, from the series Another Twenty-Six Gas Stations

Gregory Eddi Jones, #6, from the series Another Twenty-Six Gas Stations, 2014

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Shengze Zhu, What Has Been Will Be, What Will Be Has Been, 2019

Marine Dias Daniel, la femme nue, 2018

Marine Dias Daniel, La femme nue, 2018

Seiichi Furuya, Portrait of Christine Furuya, Graz, 1979

Seiichi Furuya, Portrait of Christine Furuya, Graz, 1979
© Seiichi Furuya | Courtesy Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin

Annelies Streba, Filmstills aus Dawa-Video, 2001

Annelies Streba, Filmstills aus Dawa-Video, 2001

Christof Nuessli, Googley Eyes, 2019

Christof Nüssli, Splash, drip, drip, woo, splash, ayy, 2019

Jake Elwes, Machine Learning Porn, 2016

Jake Elwes, Machine Learning Porn, 2016