Lade Veranstaltungen

The Prix Photoforum is one of the few photography awards in Switzerland with no limits of nationality, age or career stage, and no imposed theme. As a result, it presents each year a great diversity of works, testifying to the richness of the contemporary photographic scene and the plurality of uses of the image. The projects selected this year reflect the remarkable commitment of contemporary photographers and artists to exploring major issues facing our society: ecology and the position of humanity in the face of the upheavals it is causing to the planet, migration out of and within Europe, systemic violence in Western society, the need for refuge and community, the negotiation of individual and collective identities, in particular. Alongside these concerned works are precise and rigorous explorations centred on the photographic medium, and issues of perception and representation. The selected photographers are: Akusoa Viktoria Adu-Sanyah, Alexandra Baumgartner, Sabina Bösch, Aline Bovard Rudaz, Céline Brunko, Alexandra Dautel, Samuel Haettenschweiler, Nicole Hametner, Camille Millerand, Marcel Rickli, Léonard Rossi and Martin Widmer.

The Photoforum 2020 Prize, endowed with CHF 5,000, was awarded to the artist Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah for her project ‘Inheritance. Poems of Non-Belonging’, which is still largely unpublished. In her experimental and explorative work, the artist deals with her German-Ghanaian origins and the resulting challenges within social constructs. A need for belonging meets the urge to define the Self independently of external categorisation and free of preconceptions – the heterogeneous cultural identity leads to a sense of one’s own incompatibility. While the work is strongly autobiographical, it also refers to the fatal consequences of systemic racism and racial inequality which have gained a new level of global awareness triggered by the case of Derek Chauvin and George Floyd and the subsequent global protest movements.

The jury also decided to award a special mention to the photographer Camille Millerand for his long-term project Bled Runner. This work, initiated in Algeria in 2015, follows the long-term migratory routes of people who have undertaken to reach Europe clandestinely, and whose trajectory will lead them to Europe, to other African countries, or on the way back to their country of origin.

The 2020 edition of the Prix Photoforum received proposals from 164 artists and photographers. The jury – composed of Rolando Bassetti (director, Centre d’Art Contemporain d’Yverdon-les-Bains), Doris Gassert (research curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Yann Mingard (photographer and committee member), Danaé Panchaud (director, Photoforum Pasquart), and Maren Polte (head of the BA and MA courses in art education at the Bern University of the Arts) – selected twelve artists and photographers for the exhibition of the Prix Photoforum 2020, named a laureate and awarded a special mention of the jury.

Image: Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah

Brunko Céline – Forms of Representation, 2016- ongoing

Dautel Alexandra – May you continue to blossom

Widmer Martin – Photographic – Protocol 22_9

Bösch Sabina – Hoselupf, 2019

Bovard Rudaz Aline – Violences Invisibles

Hametner Nicole – Archetypes, 2020

Adu-Sanyah Akosua Viktoria – INHERITANCE, Poems of Non-Belonging

Baumgartner Alexandra – How like a leaf I am

Rickli Marcel – AEON, or: What endures? 2018-en cours

Rossi Léonard – 7 Days

Millerand Camille – BLED RUNNER, 2015-laufend

Haettenschweiler Samuel – Under construction until further notice, 2020

Lade Veranstaltungen

Der Prix Photoforum ist eine der wenigen Auszeichnungen für Fotografie in der Schweiz ohne vorgegebene Thematik und offen für alle – unabhängig von Alter und Stand der Karriere. Folglich zeigt die Ausstellung jedes Jahr die grosse Bandbreite der Schweizer Fotografieszene und deren Vielfalt im Umgang mit dem Medium. Die in diesem Jahr ausgewählten Projekte spiegeln das bemerkenswerte Engagement zeitgenössischer Fotograf_innen und Künstler_innen wieder, die sich mit den grossen Fragen unserer Gesellschaft auseinandersetzen: Ökologie und die Stellung des Menschen angesichts der von ihm verursachten Umwälzungen auf unserem Planeten, Migration ausserhalb und innerhalb Europas, systemische Gewalt in der westlichen Gesellschaft, das Bedürfnis nach Zuflucht und Gemeinschaft, insbesondere die Aushandlung individueller und kollektiver Identitäten. Parallel zu dieser Arbeit finden präzise und rigorose Untersuchungen statt, die sich auf das fotografische Medium, die Wahrnehmung und die Darstellung konzentrieren. Die Ausgewählte Fotograf_innen sind: Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah, Alexandra Baumgartner, Sabina Bösch, Aline Bovard Rudaz, Céline Brunko, Alexandra Dautel, Samuel Haettenschweiler, Nicole Hametner, Camille Millerand, Marcel Rickli, Léonard Rossi und Martin Widmer.

Der mit 5’000 CHF dotierte Prix Photoforum 2020 ging an die Künstlerin Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah für ihr Projekt ‘Inheritance. Poems of Non-Belonging’, welches noch weitgehend unveröffentlicht ist. In der experimentellen und explorativen Arbeit setzt sich die Künstlerin auf vielseitige Weise mit ihrer deutsch-ghanaischen Herkunft und den sich daraus ergebenden sozialen Lebensrealitäten auseinander. Das Bedürfnis nach Zugehörigkeit trifft auf die Notwendigkeit, das Selbst unabhängig von externer Kategorisierung und frei von Vorverurteilungen zu definieren – die heterogene kulturelle Identität führt zu einem Gefühl der eigenen Unvereinbarkeit. Während die Arbeit stark autobiographisch geprägt ist, verweist sie gleichzeitig auf systemischen und alltäglichen Rassismus, dessen fatale Konsequenzen durch den Fall von Derek Chauvin und George Floyd und die anschliessenden globalen Protestbewegungen an neuer Aktualität gewinnen.

Die Jury vergab auch eine besondere Erwähnung an den Fotograf Camille Millerand für sein langjähriges Projekt Bled Runner. Diese Arbeit, die 2015 in Algerien begonnen wurde, folgt den langfristigen Migrationsrouten von Menschen, die sich zur illegalen Ausreise nach Europa verpflichtet haben und deren Weg sie nach Europa sowie in andere afrikanische Länder oder auf dem Rückweg in ihr Herkunftsland führen wird.

Für den Prix Photoforum 2020 sind 164 Bewerbungen von Fotograf_innen und Künstler_innen eingegangen. Die Jury – bestehend aus Rolando Bassetti (Direktor, Centre d’Art Contemporain d’Yverdon- les-Bains), Doris Gassert (Research Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Yann Mingard (Fotograf und Vorstandsmitglied), Danaé Panchaud (Direktorin, Photoforum Pasquart), und Maren Polte (Leiterin der BA- und MA-Studiengänge Kulturvermittlung an der Hochschule der Künste Bern) – hat zwölf Kunstschaffende und Fotograf_innen für die Ausstellung des Prix Photoforum 2020, sowie eine Preisträgerin und einen Runner Up ausgewählt.

Bild: Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah

Brunko Céline – Forms of Representation, 2016- laufend

Dautel Alexandra – May you continue to blossom

Widmer Martin – Photographic – Protocol 22_9

Bösch Sabina – Hoselupf, 2019

Bovard Rudaz Aline – Violences Invisibles

Hametner Nicole – Archetypes, 2020

Adu-Sanyah Akosua Viktoria – INHERITANCE, Poems of Non-Belonging

Baumgartner Alexandra – How like a leaf I am

Rickli Marcel – AEON, or: What endures? 2018-en cours

Rossi Léonard – 7 Days

Millerand Camille – BLED RUNNER, 2015-laufend

Haettenschweiler Samuel – Under construction until further notice, 2020