Lade Veranstaltungen

The Prix Photoforum is one of the few photography awards in Switzerland with no limits of nationality, age or career stage, and no imposed theme. As a result, it presents each year a great diversity of works, testifying to the richness of the contemporary photographic scene and the plurality of uses of the image. The projects selected this year reflect the remarkable commitment of contemporary photographers and artists to exploring major issues facing our society: ecology and the position of humanity in the face of the upheavals it is causing to the planet, migration out of and within Europe, systemic violence in Western society, the need for refuge and community, the negotiation of individual and collective identities, in particular. Alongside these concerned works are precise and rigorous explorations centred on the photographic medium, and issues of perception and representation. The selected photographers are: Akusoa Viktoria Adu-Sanyah, Alexandra Baumgartner, Sabina Bösch, Aline Bovard Rudaz, Céline Brunko, Alexandra Dautel, Samuel Haettenschweiler, Nicole Hametner, Camille Millerand, Marcel Rickli, Léonard Rossi and Martin Widmer.

The Photoforum 2020 Prize, endowed with CHF 5,000, was awarded to the artist Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah for her project ‘Inheritance. Poems of Non-Belonging’, which is still largely unpublished. In her experimental and explorative work, the artist deals with her German-Ghanaian origins and the resulting challenges within social constructs. A need for belonging meets the urge to define the Self independently of external categorisation and free of preconceptions – the heterogeneous cultural identity leads to a sense of one’s own incompatibility. While the work is strongly autobiographical, it also refers to the fatal consequences of systemic racism and racial inequality which have gained a new level of global awareness triggered by the case of Derek Chauvin and George Floyd and the subsequent global protest movements.

The jury also decided to award a special mention to the photographer Camille Millerand for his long-term project Bled Runner. This work, initiated in Algeria in 2015, follows the long-term migratory routes of people who have undertaken to reach Europe clandestinely, and whose trajectory will lead them to Europe, to other African countries, or on the way back to their country of origin.

The 2020 edition of the Prix Photoforum received proposals from 164 artists and photographers. The jury – composed of Rolando Bassetti (director, Centre d’Art Contemporain d’Yverdon-les-Bains), Doris Gassert (research curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Yann Mingard (photographer and committee member), Danaé Panchaud (director, Photoforum Pasquart), and Maren Polte (head of the BA and MA courses in art education at the Bern University of the Arts) – selected twelve artists and photographers for the exhibition of the Prix Photoforum 2020, named a laureate and awarded a special mention of the jury.

Image: Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah

Brunko Céline – Forms of Representation, 2016- ongoing

Dautel Alexandra – May you continue to blossom

Widmer Martin – Photographic – Protocol 22_9

Bösch Sabina – Hoselupf, 2019

Bovard Rudaz Aline – Violences Invisibles

Hametner Nicole – Archetypes, 2020

Adu-Sanyah Akosua Viktoria – INHERITANCE, Poems of Non-Belonging

Baumgartner Alexandra – How like a leaf I am

Rickli Marcel – AEON, or: What endures? 2018-en cours

Rossi Léonard – 7 Days

Millerand Camille – BLED RUNNER, 2015-laufend

Haettenschweiler Samuel – Under construction until further notice, 2020

Lade Veranstaltungen

Le Prix Photoforum est l’un des rares prix de photographies en Suisse sans limites de nationalité, d’âge ou d’étape de carrière, et sans thématique imposée. Il présente en conséquence chaque année une grande diversité de travaux, témoignant de la richesse de la scène photographique contemporaine, et de la diversité des usages de l’image. Les projets sélectionnés cette année reflètent l’engagement remarquable des photographes et artistes contemporains à explorer des problématiques majeures auxquelles notre société est confrontée : l’écologie et la position de l’homme face aux bouleversements qu’il fait subir à la planète, la migration hors de l’Europe et en Europe, les violences systémiques dans la société occidentale, le besoin de refuge et de communauté, la négociation des identités individuelles et collectives, notamment. Aux côtés de ces travaux engagés figurent des explorations précises et rigoureuses centrées sur le médium photographique, la perception et la représentation. Les photographes et artistes sélectionnés pour l’exposition sont: Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah, Alexandra Baumgartner, Sabina Bösch, Aline Bovard Rudaz, Céline Brunko, Alexandra Dautel, Samuel Haettenschweiler, Nicole Hametner, Camille Millerand, Marcel Rickli, Léonard Rossi et Martin Widmer.

Le Prix Photoforum 2020, doté de CHF 5’000, a été décerné à l’artiste Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah pour son projet Inheritance. Poems of Non-Belonging, encore en large part inédit. Ce travail protéiforme, expérimental et exploratoire, traite des origines allemandes et ghanéennes de l’artiste et des réalités sociales qui en découlent. Le besoin d’appartenance est confronté à la nécessité de se définir soi-même, indépendamment des catégorisations extérieures et des préjugés – l’identité culturelle hétérogènes mène à un sentiment d’incompatibilité personnelle. Si le projet est profondément autobiographique, il fait aussi référence au racisme systémique et quotidien, dont les conséquences fatales ont connu une nouvelle actualité avec le cas de Derek Chauvin et George Floyd et le mouvement de protestation global qui s’en est suivi.

Le jury a également souhaité décerner une mention spéciale au photographe Camille Millerand pour son projet au long cours Bled Runner. Ce travail, initié en Algérie en 2015, suit sur le long terme les parcours migratoires de personnes qui ont entrepris de partir clandestinement vers l’Europe, et dont la trajectoire les mènera aussi bien vers l’Europe que vers d’autres pays d’Afrique, ou encore sur le chemin du retour vers leur pays d’origine.

L’édition 2020 du Prix Photoforum a reçu les propositions de 164 artistes et photographes. Le jury – composé de Rolando Bassetti (directeur, Centre d’Art Contemporain d’Yverdon-les-Bains), Doris Gassert (research curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Yann Mingard (photographe et membre du comité), Danaé Panchaud (directrice, Photoforum Pasquart), et Maren Polte (responsable des formations BA et MA de médiation culturelle à la Haute école des arts de Berne) – a sélectionné douze artistes et photographes pour l’exposition du Prix Photoforum 2020, a nommé une lauréate et attribué une mention spéciale du jury.

Image: Akosua Viktoria Adu-Sanyah

Brunko Céline – Forms of Representation, 2016- en cours

Dautel Alexandra – May you continue to blossom

Widmer Martin – Photographic – Protocol 22_9

Bösch Sabina – Hoselupf, 2019

Bovard Rudaz Aline – Violences Invisibles

Hametner Nicole – Archetypes, 2020

Adu-Sanyah Akosua Viktoria – INHERITANCE, Poems of Non-Belonging

Baumgartner Alexandra – How like a leaf I am

Rickli Marcel – AEON, or: What endures? 2018-en cours

Rossi Léonard – 7 Days

Millerand Camille – BLED RUNNER, 2015-en cours

Haettenschweiler Samuel – Under construction until further notice, 2020