Lade Events

ADRIAN SAUER

Adrian Sauer explores in his photographic work the foundations of a medium that has changed like no other over the last decades. When, during the 1990s, analogue photography was gradually replaced by digital processes, many critics proclaimed the end of photography. Adrian Sauer’s work decidedly adopts an opposite stance. For many years, he has addressed in multifaceted ways the attributes of digital photography as a medium.  The resulting works are at first sight minimalist, if not cryptic, before they reveal their elegance and, often, their humorous side. In the exhibition, Adrian Sauer interconnects three main complementary formats: photography as pictorial medium, three-dimensional objects and texts.

The 2010 series 16.777.216 Farben [16.777.216 colours] offers a minimalist but elegant experience of the spectrum of light. The digital captors of the cameras can today produce 16’777’216 distinct colours. A computer working in an 8-bit environment is limited to this colour environment. Having worked for a long time with software such as Adobe Photoshop, Adrian Sauer saw the evolutions of the interface between user and technology. Relying on this experience, he has developed a software capable of producing images containing each colour just once.

The series Form und Farbe (shape and colour), started in 2014, consists of diptychs of photographs of clouds. The variations in the cloud shapes are reminiscent, in their fleetingness, of the photographic medium, while being a classic motif in art history. Adrian Sauer frequently photographs the sky. For this series, he has developed a software that creates a negative and a positive image from the same file, before adjusting their while balance. From these operations are created pairs of twin images.

The series Parkett [parquet] astutely demonstrate the capacities of the photographic medium: 36 images continuously reproduce a parquet, which we are used to see from an above position when standing on it. This work invites to think about how objectively representable things can be and about what will, even with the most exact reproduction, be left out.

The object Spiegel mit einem Band [mirror with hinge] is composed of two “wings” whose surfaces are integrally covered with polished steel, and which are linked with a piano hinge. The history of photography, in which the metaphorical attributes abound, becomes here a physical space of experience. As the surfaces are not perfectly flat, the reflections are slightly deformed – the mirror can thus be apprehended as an object. But despite these deformations, the work still acts as a mirror and multiplies the image of the exhibition room, offering a surprising point of view on the architecture of the Photoforum. Its dimensions (90 x 225 cm), are reminiscent of the standard size of a door and can be interpreted as a reference to the human body.

As in the parquet photography series, the issue of reproduction plays a central role in the object parquet work. While part of the Photoforum’s floor are made of wood parquet, one of the photographic work features objects of a seemingly similar material, but which are in reality based on photographs of that very material. While the specific photographic techniques for the representation and articulation of the visual reality are on the decline, universal techniques are used for the presentation of a certain visual reality are used: the paradox of the development of photographic representation is here abundantly clear.

In his long-term project Glossar, Adrian Sauer explains the phenomena shaping our digital and visual everyday life. His exploration of concepts such as “sharing” and “deleting”, “bot” or “meme,” tackles the often difficult to grasp logic of the contemporary visual culture. His glossary takes various forms, from installations in museal institutions of the public space to publications. The arrangement of the terms is based on the logic of digital structures: a text form that is not linear but follows the structure of a network, allowing for cross-referencing. The glossary is the basis of a publication that prolongs the exhibition.

The exhibition is curated by Nadine Wietlisbach.

Biography

Adrian Sauer (*1976, lives and works in Leipzig, DE) studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Leipzig from 1997 to 2003, and from 1999 onwards with Professor Timm Rautert. In 2005, he earned his master’s degree, under the direction of Timm Rautert as well. In 2004, he co-founded with other students the producer’s gallery Amerika in Berlin. His work has been presented in many solo and group exhibitions, in galleries as well as public institutions, and has received many grants. His work is part of public as well as private collections.

 © Adrian Sauer, Parkett, 36 digitale C-Prints, 2016

Adrian Sauer, 30.06.2015, 2015

Adrian Sauer, 30.06.2015, 2015

Adrian Sauer, 16777216 Farben in rot, grün und blau, 2018 (detail)

Adrian Sauer, Exhibition view © Adrian Sauer

Adrian Sauer, Exhibition view © Adrian Sauer

The exhibition is supported by:

Simultaneously:

DOROTHÉE ELISA BAUMANN

Lade Événements

ADRIAN SAUER

Adrian Sauer explore dans son travail photographique les fondements d’un médium qui a changé comme aucun autre au cours des dernières décennies. Lorsque, dans les années 1990, la photographie analogique a peu à peu été remplacée par des processus digitaux, nombre de critiques y ont vu la fin de la photographie. Le travail d’Adrian Sauer adopte une position diamétralement opposée. Depuis de nombreuses années, il traite de manière diversifiée des propriétés du médium de la photographie digitale. En résultent des œuvres au premier abord minimales, et même mystérieuses, qui se révèlent élégantes, fréquemment animées d’un trait d’humour. Dans l’exposition, Adrian Sauer met en lien trois formats principaux et complémentaires : la photographie comme médium pictural, des objets tridimensionnels et des textes.

Le travail développé en 2010 16.777.216 Farben [16’777’216 couleurs] nous propose de faire l’expérience, sous une forme minimale mais élégant, du spectre de la lumière. Les capteurs digitaux des appareils photographiques sont aujourd’hui capables de produire 16’777’216 couleurs distinctes. L’ordinateur, lorsqu’il travaille dans un environnement 8-bit, est ainsi limité à cet espace colorimétrique. Ayant travaillé durant longtemps avec des programmes tels qu’Adobe Photoshop, Adrian Sauer a remarqué à quel point l’interface entre l’utilisateur et la technologie a évolué. S’appuyant sur cette expérience, il a lui-même développé un programme qui produit des images qui contiennent toutes ces couleurs une unique fois par image.

La série Form und Farbe [forme et couleur], débutée en 2014, consiste en diptyques de photographies de nuages. Les variations dans les formations de nuages rappellent dans leur fluidité la photographie en tant que médium, tout en étant un motif ancré dans l’histoire de l’art. Adrian Sauer photographie régulièrement le ciel. Pour cette série, il a créé un programme, qui crée une image positive puis négative du même motif, complétées par un travail sur la balance des blancs. De cette opposition générée par ordinateur résultent ainsi des paires d’images jumelles.

La série Parkett [Parquet] nous démontre astucieusement les capacités du médium photographique: 36 images reproduisent de manière ininterrompue un plancher, sur lequel nous nous tenons habituellement debout. Cette œuvre invite à s’interroger sur la mesure dans laquelle quelque chose peut être reproduit avec objectivité, et sur ce qui va, malgré la fidélité de la reproduction, manquer.

L’objet Spiegel mit einem Band [miroir avec charnière] se compose de deux « ailes », dont les surfaces sont intégralement recouvertes d’acier poli, et qui sont reliées par une charnière à piano. L’histoire de la photographie, qui s’est distinguée par ses attributions métaphoriques au titre desquelles le miroir figure, devient ici une expérience dans l’espace physique. Comme les surfaces ne sont pas parfaitement planes, les reflets sont légèrement déformés — le miroir peut ainsi être ici appréhendé comme un objet. Mais malgré ces déformations, la pièce agit bien comme un miroir: l’image de la salle d’exposition est démultipliée, et offre un point de vue surprenant sur l’architecture du Photoforum. Ses dimensions (90 cm de large par 225 cm de haut) rappellent la taille standard d’une porte, et peuvent se lire comme une référence au corps humain

Comme dans la série de photographies, la question de la reproduction est centrale dans les objets appartenant au même groupe d’œuvres basées sur les parquets. Alors qu’une partie du sol du Photoforum est en parquet de bois, une série présente des objets semblant être du même matériau, mais qui sont en réalité basés sur une photographie d’un parquet. Alors que les techniques photographiques spécifiques à la représentation de la réalité visible sont en recul, des techniques universelles sont utilisées pour présenter une certaine version de la réalité : le paradoxe du développement de la représentation photographique est ici mis en exergue.

Dans son projet de longue durée Glossar [glossaire], Adrian Sauer explique les phénomènes qui façonnent notre quotidien digital et quotidien. Son exploration des concepts ou notions tels que « partager » et « supprimer », « bot » ou « mème », prend pour thème la logique souvent difficile à suivre de la culture visuelle contemporaine. Son glossaire prend diverses formes : installation dans l’espace public ou dans un espace muséal, ou encore publication. La disposition des termes du glossaire basée sur la logique des structures numériques – non pas sur un ordre linéaire, mais sur une structure en réseau – ce qui permet la création de références croisées. Le glossaire constitue la base d’une publication qui prolonge l’exposition.

L’exposition est commissariée par Nadine Wietlisbach.

Biographie

Adrian Sauer (*1976, vit et travaille à Leipzig, DE) a étudié à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Leipzig de 1997 à 2003, et dès 1999 dans la classe du Professeur Timm Rautert. En 2005, il obtient son diplôme de master, toujours sous la direction de Timm Rautert. En 2004, il a cofondé avec d’autres étudiants la galerie indépendante Amerika à Berlin. Son travail a été présenté dans de très nombreuses expositions monographiques et de groupe, dans des galeries aussi bien que des institutions publiques, et il a reçu de nombreuses bourses. Son travail figure dans nombre de collections privées et publiques.

 © Adrian Sauer, Parkett, 36 digitale C-Prints, 2016

Adrian Sauer, 30.06.2015, 2015

Adrian Sauer, 30.06.2015, 2015

L’exposition reçoit le soutien de:

En parallèle:

DOROTHÉE ELISA BAUMANN