Lade Veranstaltungen

Ricochet is the first exhibition of the long-term project by the Biel-based artist Rudolf Steiner. Initiated in 2013, this project encompasses several hundred photographic landscapes taken in the area of Biel and Rondchâtel, near the author’s studio.

There is a strange and fascinating beauty in these images, which appear simultaneously familiar and puzzling. Their photographic precision is challenged by unexpected patterns, textures and inconsistencies. We can guess that they are created through to the camera and the process of shooting, but their nature is not immediately decipherable. In addition to his formal research, Rudolf Steiner is offering with Ricochet a reflection on the role of art and the representation of landscape in the current context of the profound climatic upheavals that are affecting our environment on a global scale. Although landscape photography can be perceived a priori as a neutral form of expression, concerned above all with the beauty of a given territory, it is nevertheless almost always revealing of the relationship between man and his environment, of the ideals and fantasies that he harbours towards nature, and finally of the image that a society forms of itself. At the time of the Industrial Revolution, for example, artists were depicting grandiose and immaculate landscapes, when nature was undergoing brutal transformations due to the frenzy of human activity.

Ricochet’s photographs are made using a photographic robot that generates several dozen contiguous shots before assembling them by computer. Used in this particular way, this method of making images sees errors accumulate since, during the 10 to 30 minute shoot, the light and weather conditions change and generate visual aberrations. They symbolically echo the transformations inflicted by man on the landscape, and the loss of human control over these phenomena. Rudolf Steiner’s landscapes are both disconcerting and visually very attractive. In a subtle way, they invite the viewer to reflect on man’s imprint on the landscape, which is becoming ever more striking at a time when human activities are now profoundly transforming the climate.

The title of the series echoes ancient understandings of the mechanism of vision, in which the eye was thought to emit a visual ray that scanned the visible world in a manner similar to Ricochet’s method of shooting.


Events

Opening Day
Saturday 19 September 2020 from 11.00 to 18.00
Free admission and drinks
Talk with Roger Eberhard in German at 16.00
Talk with Rudolf Steiner in German at 17.00
Mask mandatory during the talks

Talk with Rudolf Steiner and Johannes Binotto, researcher in the fields of media and culture
Thursday 29 October at 18.30 (in German)

Guided tours
Thursday 24 September at 18.30 in French
Thursday 1 October at 18.30 in German
Thursday 22 October at 18.30 in German
Sunday 8 November at 16.00 in German
Thursday 19 November at 16.00 in French


With the support of Stiftung Vinetum and Ursula Wirz-Stiftung

Lade Veranstaltungen

Leider bleibt aufgrund der neuen Massnahmen vom Kanton Bern das Photoforum Pasquart vom 24. Oktober bis auf weiteres geschlossen. Alle Veranstaltungen wurden abgesagt oder verschoben.

Ricochet ist die erste Ausstellung des Langzeitprojekts des in Biel lebenden Künstlers Rudolf Steiner. Das im 2013 begonnene Projekt mit mehreren hundert Bildern konzentriert sich auf die Landschaften rund um Biel und Rondchâtel, in der Umgebung seines Ateliers.

In diesen Bildern, die gleichzeitig vertraut und rätselhaft sind, liegt eine seltsame und faszinierende Schönheit. Zu ihrer fotografischen Präzision kommen unerwartete Muster, Texturen und Unstimmigkeiten hinzu. Die Natur der Bilder ist nicht unmittelbar zu entziffern, lässt jedoch Rückschlüsse auf den Entstehungsprozess erahnen. Zusätzlich zu seiner formalen Forschung reflektiert Rudolf Steiner mit Ricochet die Rolle von Kunst und Darstellung von Landschaft im aktuellen Kontext der klimatischen Umwälzungen, die unsere Umwelt im globalen Massstab beeinflussen. Wenn die Landschaftsdarstellung a priori als eine neutrale Ausdrucksform wahrgenommen werden kann, die sich vor allem mit der Schönheit der Territorien befasst, so ist sie dennoch aufschlussreich im Bezug auf die Ideale und Phantasien, die er gegenüber seiner Umwelt empfindet, was schliesslich das Bild mitbestimmt, das eine Gesellschaft von sich selbst hat. So waren zur Zeit der Industriellen Revolution die Künstler damit beschäftigt, grandiose und unberührte Landschaften darzustellen, während gleichzeitig die Natur durch die Raserei der menschlichen Aktivitäten brutale Veränderungen erfuhr.

Die Fotografien des Projekts Ricochet werden mit einem Fotoroboter erstellt, der mehrere Dutzend bis mehrere Hundert aufeinander folgende Aufnahmen erzeugt, bevor der Künstler sie per Computer zusammensetzt. Bei dieser Methode der Bilderstellung häufen sich Fehler an, da sich während der 10- bis 30-minütigen Aufnahmezeit die Licht- und Wetterbedingungen ändern und diese visuelle Aberrationen erzeugen. Sie spiegeln somit symbolisch die Veränderungen wider, die der Mensch der Landschaft zugefügt hat, wie auch den Verlust der menschlichen Kontrolle über diese Phänomene. Die Landschaften Rudolf Steiners sind zugleich befremdlich wie auch visuell sehr reizvoll. Sie laden den Betrachter auf subtile Weise dazu ein, über die Prägung der Landschaft durch den Menschen nachzudenken, in einer Zeit, in der die menschlichen Aktivitäten so weit gehen, dass sie das Klima tiefgreifend verändern.

Der Titel der Serie Ricochet knüpft an alte Erkenntnisse über den Mechanismus des Sehens an, bei denen man glaubte, dass das Auge einen visuellen Strahl aussendet, der die sichtbare Welt in ähnlicher Weise abtastet wie Ricochets Aufnahmemethode.


Veranstaltungen

Eröffnungstag: 19.9.2020
Kostenloser Eintritt & Drinks: 11.00 - 18.00
Gespräch mit Roger Eberhard (DE): 16.00
Gespräch mit Rudolf Steiner (DE): 17.00

Führungen
FR 24.9.2002 – 18.30
DE 1.10.2020 – 18.30
DE 22.10.2020 – 18.30
DE 8.11.2020 – 16.00
FR 19.11.2020 – 18.30

Gespräch mit Rudolf Steiner und Johannes Binotto, Kultur- und Medienwissenschaftler
Donnerstag, 29.10.2020 – 19.00 auf Deutsch
In Partnerschaft mit near. swiss association for contemporary photography


Mit Unterstützung von Stiftung Vinetum und Ursula Wirz-Stiftung