Lade Veranstaltungen

Image: © Mathieu Merlet Briand, #Blue-Screen, 2018

The 23rd edition of the Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography will explore the theme of overflow, both real and virtual, in today’s society. On the internet, a “flood” is an action that inundates the network and saturates digital forums, rendering them unusable. Vast quantities of information are shared every day by more than four billion internet users, whether they are aware of it or not. This constant stream of passing data has an impact on society that cannot be fully grasped, but it also presents opportunities for both individual and social development.

This year’s edition will present works of photography that examine the often insidious overflows into the private sphere, the political excesses that confront humanity, our technological frenzy and the extreme exploitation of essential resources in contemporary society. The photographic image is a reflection of our practices: today it gets swept along in the flow of data, and like the individual it sometimes becomes unreadable or invisible. The exhibitions will help to make the image re-emerge, bringing to the surface the societal contradictions that it sometimes depicts and will let the photograph leave its frame to set the viewer’s thoughts in motion.

 

At the Photoforum: Hochwasser, Sturm, Orkan,

The Photoforum Pasquart proposes for this edition of the Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography, entitled Flood, a carte blanche to the artist Myriam Ziehli, taking as a starting point the recurring historical motifs of the deluge and the catastrophe.

„This starts from a very simple intuition; that the conservation in the zoological structure is reminiscent of two biblical parables: that of Noah’s Ark and before it, of Genesis. Indeed, the zoo represents a closed conservation structure, and thus constitutes a form of ark. The emergency of the apocalyptic situation in the parable evokes contemporary ecological problems, in particular the worrying loss of biodiversity characterised by the sixth mass extinction. Noah’s patriarchal and hierarchical authority on the animals he chose and ‘saved’ recalls the Western insolence, on the one hand, in defining a prioritisation in conservation actions and, on the other hand, in the way animals are defined as representing their species within the zoological park.

Finally, the ‚naturalistic’ perception (according to the four ontologies defined by Philippe Descola), separating the ambient world (environment) of humanity is found at the beginning of the Bible, in Genesis 1.26, we find this verse: ‚Then God said, Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.’

Would these visions of ‚nature’ under the domination of ‚man’, which today seem absurd, allow us to review our culturally constructed – and deeply rooted – relationship of ‚sovereign over nature’?“

Myriam Ziehli, 2019

Retable of Westminster, 1259-1269 (detail)

Myriam Ziehli, Hochwasser, Sturm, Orkan, Photoforum Pasquart 2019

Myriam Ziehli, Hochwasser, Sturm, Orkan, 2019

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Événements

Image: © Mathieu Merlet Briand, #Blue-Screen, 2018

La 23e édition des Journées photographiques de Bienne explore la thématique du débordement réel et virtuel dans notre société actuelle. Anglicisme, le « flood » est une action qui inonde le réseau et sature les forums informatiques jusqu’à les rendre inutilisables. Quotidiennement, plus de quatre milliards d’internautes partagent une multitude d’informations sur la toile, consciemment ou non. Ce flot de données qui nous dépasse, et dont l’impact sur notre société est non maîtrisable, représente aussi des opportunités de développement pour l’individu et les collectivités.

Cette édition présente des travaux photographiques qui questionnent les débordements parfois sournois dans la sphère privée, les dérives politiques auxquelles l’humain est confronté, la frénésie technologique et l’exploitation extrême des ressources vitales dans notre société contemporaine. Reflet de nos pratiques, l’image photographique est aujourd’hui inondée dans un flux de données et devient parfois illisible ou invisible, à l’instar de l’individu. Au fil des expositions, il s’agit de faire réémerger l’image, de laisser surgir les contradictions sociétales qu’elle révèle, d’autoriser la photographie à sortir de son cadre et de mettre en mouvement la pensée des spectateur-trice-s.

Au Photoforum: Hochwasser, Sturm, Orkan,

Le Photoforum Pasquart propose pour cette édition du festival une carte blanche à l’artiste Myriam Ziehli, prenant comme point de départ les motifs récurrents au cours de l’histoire du déluge et de la catastrophe.

“Cela part d’une intuition très simple; la conservation dans la structure zoologique n’est pas sans rappeler deux paraboles bibliques: celle de l’Arche de Noé et avant elle, la Genèse. En effet, le parc zoologique représente une structure fermée de conservation, constituant ainsi une forme d’arche. L’urgence de la situation apocalyptique dans la parabole évoque les problèmes écologiques contemporains avec notamment l’inquiétante perte de biodiversité caractérisée par la sixième extinction de masse. L’autorité patriarcale et hiérarchique de Noé sur les animaux qu’il choisit et « qu’il sauve » rappelle l’insolence occidentale, d’une part, définissant une priorisation des actions de conservation et d’autre part, la manière de définir les animaux comme représentant de leur espèce au sein du parc zoologique.
Finalement la perception « naturaliste » (selon les quatre ontologies définies par Philippe Descola), séparant le monde ambiant (environnement) de l’humain se retrouve dans les prémices de la Bible, ainsi dans la Genèse 1.26, nous retrouvons ce verset : « Puis Dieu dit : Faisons l’homme à notre image, selon notre ressemblance, et qu’il domine sur les poissons de la mer, sur les oiseaux du ciel, sur le bétail, sur toute la terre, et sur tous les reptiles qui rampent sur la terre. “
Ces visions de la ‘nature’ sous la domination de ‘l’homme’ semblant aujourd’hui aberrantes, nous permettraient-elles de revoir notre rapport culturellement construit — et ancré profondément — de ‘souverain sur la nature’ ?”

Myriam Ziehli, 2019

Retable de Westminster, 1259-1269 (détail)

Myriam Ziehli, Hochwasser, Sturm, Orkan, Photoforum Pasquart 2019

Myriam Ziehli, Hochwasser, Sturm, Orkan, 2019