Lade Veranstaltungen

The Photoforum Prize is one of the few photography prizes in Switzerland with no limits on nationality, age or career stage, and no imposed themes. It therefore presents each year a great diversity of works, testifying to the richness of the contemporary photographic scene, and the diversity of uses of the image.

This year’s submissions reflect the artists’ concerns and their engagement in confronting major societal issues: the representation of certain communities that stand out from society, the migration and representation of migrant people, the ecological issues of the 21st century and the emotional responses they generate, family ties and parenthood, in particular. Some proposals examine, in another register, the performative and experimental potential of the photographic image and its ability to create a relation to the world through fiction.

The Prix Photoforum 2019, endowed with CHF 5,000, was awarded to Christelle Boulé (*1984). Her project Through the Glass is part of her long-term work around perfume and the translation of olfactory experiences into images. For this project, she creates analog colour photograms from a collection of perfume bottles that she calls her “salon des refusés”. They are perfumes that their owners no longer want, because they remind them of a former lover, because they have become obsolete, because they no longer correspond to the personality of their owner, for instance. These stories are recorded and stored with the vials, and accompany the images.

With Guillaume Baeriswyl, Christelle Boulé, Olga Bushkova, Jeanne Chevalier, Ludmila Claude, Charles Frôté, Peter Hauser, Pierre-Kastriot Jashari, Jonathan Levy, Laura Morier-Genoud, Hugo Plagnard, Jessie Schaer, Małgorzata Stankiewicz.

Image © Christelle Boulé

Lade Veranstaltungen

Le Prix Photoforum est l’un des rares prix de photographies en Suisse sans limites de nationalité, d’âge ou d’étape de carrière, et sans thématique imposée. Il présente en conséquence chaque année une grande diversité de travaux, témoignant de la richesse de la scène photographique contemporaine, et de la diversité des usages de l’image.

Les photographes sélectionnés cette année reflètent les préoccupations des artistes et leur souci de se confronter à des problématiques sociétales majeures: la représentation de certaines communautés se démarquant de la société, la migration et la représentation des personnes migrantes, les enjeux écologiques du 21siècle et les réponses émotionnelles qu’ils suscitent, les liens familiaux et la parenté, notamment. Certaines propositions examinent, dans un autre registre, le potentiel performatif et expérimental de l’image photographique et sa capacité à créer un rapport au monde par l’entremise de la fiction.

Le Prix Photoforum 2019, doté de CHF 5’000 a été décerné à Christelle Boulé(*1984). Son projet A travers le verre, encore inédit, s’inscrit dans son travail de longue durée autour du parfum et de la traduction en images d’expériences olfactives. Pour ce projet, elle crée des photogrammes argentiques en couleur à partir d’une collection de flacons de parfum qu’elle appelle son « salon des refusés ». Il s’agit en effet de parfums dont les propriétaires ne veulent plus, parce qu’ils leur rappellent une ancienne relation, parce qu’ils sont devenus désuets, parce qu’ils ne correspondent plus à la personnalité de leur propriétaire, par exemple. Ces histoires sont consignées et conservées avec les flacons, et accompagnent les images.

Avec Guillaume Baeriswyl, Christelle Boulé, Olga Bushkova, Jeanne Chevalier, Ludmila Claude, Charles Frôté, Peter Hauser, Pierre-Kastriot Jashari, Jonathan Levy, Laura Morier-Genoud, Hugo Plagnard, Jessie Schaer, Małgorzata Stankiewicz.

Image © Christelle Boulé